The Green Shamrock – My Personal Alternative To The Oscars

man-48116__180

Well we all know that the 2016 Oscars are upon us again and there is a good chance that the current frontrunners will be the winners on the night and I hope that all the winners and losers have a great night.

However I have decided to come up with my personal alternative – The Green Shamrock , being Irish as I am. So here’s my personal choices for winners. Your choices might differ from mine and apologies for the obvious Irish bias in the results.

P.s some of these may correspond with the choices of the Oscar voters and any similarities are purely a coincidence.

Best Picture – Mad Max : Fury Road. For me it was a toss up between Brooklyn and Mad Max : Fury Road. Very different movies I think you will agree.

I liked Brooklyn for it’s ability to transport us all to what it feels like that first time you leave home. But in the end my sci-fi gene took over a I plumped for Mad Max : Fury Road. For most of the running time I didn’t know what was going on, but found myself just strapping myself in and enjoying the ride.

Best Director – Adam McKay – The Big Short. How do you explain the recent financial crisis to the first timer ? With comedy of course. Some great main performances and celebrity cameos to boot.

Best Actor In A Leading Role – I went for Michael Fassbender for Steve Jobs. It would have been so easy to tell this story as a purely linear one. But I felt that just taking snapshots of the man’s life, gave us a real insight to both his genius and his ability to tick people off in his search for excellence.

Best Actress In A Leading Role – My choice was Saoirse Ronan for Brooklyn. A look said it all. Saoirse Ronan has been working up this role with all the parts she has played before. I for one can’t wait to see what role she will take on next. Every part she has inhabited so far have all been equally memorable.

Best Supporting ActorMark Rylance for Bridge Of Spies.  A performance that might be overlooked at the Oscars. Which is a shame as his performance made the movie for me. A great Cold War thriller worthy of the pen of John Le Carre.

Best Supporting Actress – Alicia Vikander for The Danish Girl. A truly touching and affecting performance, about a wife’s support for her husband and his life changing choice. Don’t forget to check out some of her previous performances also – Ex Machina and Testament Of Youth, another actress on the up.

 

Leave a Reply

