Reservoir Dogs – Revisited

Well I thought I would be reviewing a different movie this week but one of my local cinemas was running a one off showing of Reservoir Dogs so I went along to visit Quentin Tarantino’s first large screen movie effort. You should be able to catch it probably on DVD or online on one of the streaming services out there.

I should say at this point that the first time round for this movie when it was originally released I was not a fan of this movie, maybe it was a shock to the system then that it was so graphic.

Having seen quite a few Quentin Tarantino movies now including the most recent The Hateful Eight, I thought that this movie deserved a second go. I am happy to report that second time around I can now see why this movie is loved by many movie fans.

We are used to seeing this style of movie in sequence, so it is a brave filmmaker that decides to tell the story in no particular order at all. That first scene with all the movie’s cast moving slo-mo across the screen with a 70’s soundtrack in the background is as nearly as iconic as that Beatles album cover Abbey Road.

We never really find out the names of all main protagonists as they are all given names of colours. Steve Buscemi’s little speech in the diner about wanting to change his name from Mr. Pink provides, what I think is one of the movie’s most particularly funny scenes.

After having seeing many more Quentin Tarantino movies since this movie was released, the violence while graphic probably does not shock in the way that it did when it came out first. However that is not to lessen one particular scene involving a captured cop.

It is very obvious even to the casual movie viewer that Quentin Tarantino is heavily influenced by movies of the 1970’s in particular and that influence can even be seen in his most recent effort.

Now I could give you an in depth breakdown of the movie scene by scene, but just let me say that if have yet to see this movie and you want to see Quentin Tarantino honing his craft this is a good starting point. Even if you have seen it before, like myself maybe go and revisit it like I did, it’s storyline is still as strong today as when it was released and as Tarantino was influenced by 70’s cinema I am sure in turn this will go onto influence future filmmakers.

Just a final note not particularly related to this movie, but if your cinema is running a movie from years past treat yourself. I have been to many re- releases of late and quite a few modern filmmakers could learn quite a thing or two. I think you will agree with me if you do to.

Leave a Reply

